Movie: Megamind.

6 Nov

I saw Megamind tonight and enjoyed it a lot.  I even really enjoyed the 3D, and I have not been a 3D supporter at all.  (Converted movies look like absolute junk – I saw The Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D a few years ago; it looked awful.  Up wasn’t impressive enough in 3D for me to want to fork over the extra cash.  I skipped Toy Story 3 in 3D for this reason, but now I am questioning that decision, especially since the preview for Disney’s upcoming Tangled looked superb in 3D.)

For game aficionados, Megamind is notable for its portrayal of a super omega named Hal, voiced by Jonah Hill.  I find Jonah Hill pretty revolting to look at these days (due to my fat bigotry), but his voice was very well-suited to the character and he turned in a great voice performance.  If you’re not sure how to act around women, just make sure you don’t find yourself emulating Hal in any way.  He was that oh-so-adorable mix of hapless and creepy.  Eesh.

Spoilers may abound in the comments.

5 Responses to “Movie: Megamind.”

  1. ASDF November 7, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    You paid $17 for a movie ticket?

  2. Aunt Haley November 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    ASDF–
    Yeah, I’m not proud of that, but I had no other options. However, like I said, I did think the 3D enhanced the viewing experience.

  3. Rebekah November 13, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Saw the advert for this film and thought to myself wow… “with the voice of Brad Pitt”… is it just me, or is Brad Pitt’s voice not the main appeal?

    Then again, he is getting older. Time to diversify.

  4. Aunt Haley November 14, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Rebekah–
    Pitt’s voice is not the main appeal at all (though he is well-suited for the role). Studios hire celebrity actors to voice characters mainly as a marketing tool to parents and other adults. Kids couldn’t care less who is voicing whom.

  5. Rebekah November 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Yes, I understand that… what I did not understand was why they were using that as a tagline to advertise for the movie. “with the voice of Brad Pitt” seemed strange at best.

Leave a Reply

