Amanginican Idol.

17 Mar

American Idol has had its share of effeminate and (secretly, or not-so-secretly) gay male contestants in the past, but this season’s Paul McDonald is the height of effete indie SWPLism.  Is there anything about his performance that projects strength, determination, gravitas, control, command, or power?  All I see is some guy with a wispy voice traipsing around the stage like he’s afflicted with a muscle control disease and not caring that he’s presenting himself this way because this probably passes for “cool” in his music circle.

Here he is from last night, singing “I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues.”

Defenders might posit that Paul’s not caring how he comes across actually makes him alpha, but that usually requires either a certain amount of self-awareness and IDGAF-ism, or so much ripe masculinity that it can’t be denied.  Paul, on the other hand, seems to be laboring under the delusion that what he is doing is charming and cool, a delusion that is likely buoyed by the alpha attractors of being in a band prior to the show and now being famous thanks to television.  Whatever masculine personal traits Paul may possess disappear when he gets on that stage to perform.

Unfortunately for me, there are some worse contestants who need to get voted off before Paul, and the largely female, middle-aged voting base has a greater tolerance for male contestants than female (I know, what a surprise), so I expect Paul to live to sing for at least a few more weeks.

Other related thoughts:

The show is deeply feeling the loss of uber-alpha Simon Cowell.  Steven Tyler is useless on these live performance nights, and Randy Jackson lacks the swagger to pull off meaningful criticism.  And from a performance standpoint, Cowell was just better at delivering a sharp, 30-second critique in the heat of the moment.  They really should have gotten another music executive for the panel, someone who knows what qualities a performer will need to survive in the pop world, rather than going for two celebrity performers loath to judge the contestants because they feel too much empathy for them.

15 Responses to “Amanginican Idol.”

  1. jack March 17, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    We should get him saved so he can start writing for boundless.

  2. Paige March 17, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I really like his voice but I really hate to watch him. I feel the same way about that black guy with the really effeminate mannerisms. The Diva hand thing drove me nuts.

  3. Lover of Wisdom March 17, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    That guy is a horrible singer. I mean he is awful! How did he make it this far?

  4. Samson March 17, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    We should get him saved so he can start writing for boundless.

    Ha, ha. The Christian gameosphere generates some gems!

  5. ASDF March 17, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    If you close your eyes, he sounds like a raspy black woman. Try it.

  6. Hana March 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh dear. I don’t watch American Idol, so this is the first time I’ve seen this guy.

    “His swagger is way cool.” Funny, I didn’t see a swagger–I just saw some prancing and flopping around!

    I feel like a feminized singing style is strangely popular these days. Justin Bieber is one of the most popular male singers around…and he doesn’t even sound like a man!

  7. Aunt Haley March 17, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    ASDF–
    I’ve heard other people compare Paul to Macy Gray, ha.

    Hana–
    I don’t think Bieber is a fair target due to his age and recording before his voice changed. His musical style isn’t effeminate.

  8. JG March 18, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Jack said:

    “We should get him saved so he can start writing for boundless.”

    OMG funny! I absolutely hate this guy’s voice. Give him props for trying, though.

  9. enna March 19, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    He looks drunk.

  10. Rebekah March 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Some people are just different and unique without effort — there is confidence in it, and that is “alpha”. This guy just seems like a walking cliche…something feels forced about him. I felt awkward just watching him.

    I never watched American Idol before and I certainly won’t now. I’m disappointed that the judges, who are music moguls in their own right, are so impressed with him.

  11. theprivateman March 19, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    American Idol is so distasteful. I haven’t owned a television in three months and miss it not a whit.

  12. Aunt Haley March 19, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    theprivateman–
    I haven’t owned a television in three months and miss it not a whit.

    Ten bucks says you’re white as a lily!

  13. cathydinas March 20, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    i couldnt listen to it all…it was hurting my body

  14. artofclueless March 20, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    He reminds me of Charlie from It’s Always Sunny

  15. Hope March 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I haven’t watched TV at home in almost 10 years, but I’m not white. Honorary white, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

