Did you complete the 12/12 Challenge?

10 May

I, alas, did not.  (Insert wailing and gnashing of teeth here.)  But if any blog readers attempted, or even completed**, the 12/12 Challenge, please let me know!

I may reinstitute the challenge at some point in the future.  We’ll see.

**If you completed the challenge, you deserve free fries at the fast food establishment of your choice for the rest of your life, or some other comparable lifelong benefit.

7 Responses to “Did you complete the 12/12 Challenge?”

  1. Lurker May 10, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Any chance you’re going to elaborate on the results? Beyond the fact that you didn’t complete? I’m sure I’m not the only one who is curious. But I understand if you’d rather keep it to yourself.

  2. Yvette Francino May 10, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I did it, but I followed the rule that the “date” didn’t have to be “romantic.” My goal is to have a “date” at least once a week all year… But I define a date as giving one-on-one attention and spending time with a person I enjoy being with… this includes kids, parents, friends, and… of course romantic interests.

    I’ve had a lot of fun with this and even went on a good number of “romantic dates.” I was a lot more open to getting to know people better, rather than only looking for a potential husband. And though I can’t say I’m in a committed relationship, I’m still dating some of the people I met during this past 12 weeks.

    Thanks for suggesting it, Haley! I’ll pass on the life-long fries prize, and figure my prize has been the experience.

  3. Lover of Wisdom May 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I think what matters is that you put yourself out there and gave this your best shot. eHarmz probably didn’t help you if it kept matching you with Omegas, however.

  4. Aunt Haley May 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Yvette–
    Thanks for participating, and congrats.

    Lover of Wisdom–
    I don’t know if they were all omegas, but they weren’t people I had much (or any) confidence in finding a connection with. And they obviously must have felt the same way about me, because only a few initiated contact with me.

  5. y81 May 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I don’t understand how our hostess is going to reinstitute the challenge, when the real issue is that she simply doesn’t know 12 guys, or even know people who know people who know 12 guys, with whom she could have a date.

    This is very strange to me, because a little research reveals that there 195 megachurches and 8 Christian universities (plus some colleges) in California. So it really doesn’t seem like there would be a shortage of Christian men 25-35. Mr. Right is probably a graduate student at Azusa Pacific, or attending a Vineyard fellowship in Anaheim, or some such, but he isn’t on e-harmony.

  6. Koanic May 14, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    The more interesting question is, why did you fail?

    I would suggest you start measuring and analyzing this continuously, maybe instituting a review session every Sunday, rather than setting goals you won’t hit.

  7. y81 May 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    What Koanic said.

Leave a Reply

