Just a guess!

29 Aug

 

55 Responses to “Just a guess!”

  1. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    That’s my kind of life! Except for the first sex in the thirties thing. Good one Haley.

  2. Will S. August 29, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    ‘Twill be interesting to see how many kids Mrs. Foster the People’s Lead Singer will be able to pop out, having waited this long, focusing on her all-important career.

    (Oh, how uncharitable of me, esp. towards a Christian hero!)

  3. Svar August 29, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    “That’s my kind of life! Except for the first sex in the thirties thing. Good one Haley.”

    Hmm… I agree, that is my kind of life, except for the husband part. As for first sex, that definitely needs to occur at sixteen-with a whole team of cheerleaders. 2-4-6-8!! Who do we fellate?!! SVAR!!! hahaha

  4. Will S. August 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    @ Svar: I see, my horny young “full of piss and vinegar” brother in Christ, that you’re intent on alienating all your sisters in Christ, whether Alte, Terri, Morticia et al. @ Traditional Christianity, or Haley, Jennifer, et al. here. Just realize, bro, that’s what you’re doing. (I’m probably doing that myself, in other ways, but I realize it and just don’t give a rip; just so long as you know what you’re doing, it’s alright, IMO.) Cheers!

  5. Svar August 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Will, I assume you’ve read the last few posts over at Traditional Christianity as well as the comment threads. Total shitstorm. Yeah, from those last few posts, I’ve realized that some things aren’t worth discussing with women. The rest of the guys have realized the same.

    The comment I made here was just a joke, Will. Do you really think that it’s going to alienate the girls?

    I have been a bit of a dick lately. It’s my nature, I guess.

  6. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Will, your attitude is in fact ugly, whereas we can usually tell Svar’s joking. Once again, the sentence in Haley’s post comes to mind.

  7. Svar August 29, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    How is Will’s attitude ugly, Jen? He IS right.

  8. Will S. August 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    @ Svar: Oh, never mind; my attitude is ugly, apparently; guess it all depends how serious you are in the things you say, whether you actually mean the things you say or not. I stand corrected. My bad!

  9. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I don’t consider joking about alienating people and making fun of strangers’ ability to “pop out kids” a good attitude. It’s bull anyway; my mom had all of us in her thirties.

    And no, your jokes do not alienate us. But implying we’re not intelligent enough to discuss some things with could. I sent you an email.

  10. Svar August 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    How is Will’s attitude ugly, Jen? He is right after all. At this age, she ain’t gonna be pushin’ out that many young’uns

    Haha, Alte told me today that she has gotten disgusted with my mercenary attitude towards women. Will does have a point.

  11. Will S. August 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    @ Svar: Jen’s different reactions to my comments and yours highlights one of the principles of Game, of course, that you can get away with anything if your tone is way over-the-top rather than acidic yet perceived as caring too much about how received. Like I said, I actually really don’t care if I alienate. But you apparently don’t have anything to worry about, anyway, so forget I spoke.

  12. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    “guess it all depends how serious you are in the things you say, whether you actually mean the things you say or not”

    I already clarified that Svar’s joking was fine; you, OTOH, indicated that your comments were serious.

  13. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I think she could have plenty of kids, Svar. Snickering over it isn’t really decent though.

    “Haha, Alte told me today that she has gotten disgusted with my mercenary attitude towards women”

    If ALTE said that, you should take it seriously.

  14. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    “Jen’s different reactions to my comments and yours highlights one of the principles of Game, of course, that you can get away with anything if your tone is way over-the-top rather than acidic yet perceived as caring too much about how received”

    LOL Svar doesn’t always “get away” with his comments, as I and apparently now others have told him when he crosses the line. But in general he’s confirmed repeatedly that he jokes a lot and we know when not to take him seriously. It’s a good thing I don’t apply your example to all men, or I’d get the impression they’re all fakes.

  15. Svar August 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    I think the women got really pissed off at me when I quoted this line by Solomon II: “A man should not give a traditional marriage(i.e. life-long commitment) to a woman who can’t give him a traditional honey-moon(i.e. a virgin)”.

  16. Svar August 29, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Will, you’re right. That is exactly what is going on.

  17. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Svar, that’s BS. Exactly when have I let you get away with really jerky comments? In fact, check your email. Are you saying, in fact, that you pretend to be concerned about whether you alienate people?

    “A man should not give a traditional marriage(i.e. life-long commitment) to a woman who can’t give him a traditional honey-moon(i.e. a virgin)”.

    God doesn’t give double-standards.

  18. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Never mind svar, thanks for listening.

  19. zaphod August 29, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    You people are funny and clearly should be banned from posting since you couldn’t figure out the last post by Haley. Trolls…the whole lot of you.

  20. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    We’re not trolls, and even though the conversation spun off a bit, it DID incidentally stay on the topic at hand.

    With that in mind, I’m done arguing with Will’s viewpoints.

  21. Svar August 30, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    “We’re not trolls”

    We aren’t?

  22. Mark Slater August 31, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I’m not too worried about ol’ Svar. One of these days, he is going to meet that certain girl and be transformed from an irreverent wiseacre to a drooling nincompoop (as we all do).

    Fortunately, he is an eminently sensible young man and will not forget the wisdom of his father, the manoshpere, Solomon king of Israel, and the saltier dogs of the chat-boards.

  23. Svar September 1, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    “Fortunately, he is an eminently sensible young man and will not forget the wisdom of his father, the manoshpere, Solomon king of Israel, and the saltier dogs of the chat-boards.”

    Thank you very much, Mark Slater.

    An irreverent wiseacre, a drooling nincompoop…. haha.

  24. Blissex September 2, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    «with very famous and successful husband»

    That’s a disgusting attitude in several different ways, especially for a Christian woman (unless she is one of the golden calf worshiping “prosperity christian” denominations). If I were her husband I would feel sick, for example.

    «to care about no-name bloggers»

    It is so difficult for catty women to keep it in check :-).

  25. detinennui32 September 2, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Will, I assume you’ve read the last few posts over at Traditional Christianity as well as the comment threads. Total shitstorm. Yeah, from those last few posts, I’ve realized that some things aren’t worth discussing with women. The rest of the guys have realized the same.

    I don’t know if I’d go that far. I hope TC does OK. I hope it does not degenerate into a kaffeeklaatsch where men feel their viewpoints are not valid. It looks like Svar and David C, and maybe 7Man are the only male inhabitants left at TC.

  26. Will S. September 2, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    @ det: Actually, I haven’t been there in a couple days, precisely because I was getting tired of all the wheel-spinning hamsters. But I still like the site, and will revisit it; I haven’t given up on it altogether.

  27. Chris September 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    It looks like the gang is all here from TC!

    Haley, can you remind this ignorant Kiwi who the thing that looks too anorexic to be a woman in our photo is?

  28. Aunt Haley September 3, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Chris–
    She is the new wife of a very famous and successful guy in a band.

  29. Will S. September 3, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    @Chris: And as a contemporary Christian artist, she was certainly fairly famous within the Christian community, long before her husband was ever known, to give her her due.

    Her name is Rebecca St. James – unless she has changed it now that she’s married, but I somehow doubt she will, being known so long with that name…

  30. Will S. September 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    @ Chris: I just learned something I hadn’t known about her (I hadn’t ever heard her speaking, only singing): she’s a fellow antipodean of yours, from just across the strait; apparently she’s an Aussie…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rebecca_St._James

  31. Will S. September 3, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    And apparently ‘St. James’ is a stage name…

  32. imnobody September 4, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Is this true? Or a Haley’s joke? If it is true, it shows all that it is bad in American Christianity today. But I think it’s Haley’s sense of humor.

  33. Aunt Haley September 4, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    imnobody–
    Check the post’s tags.

  34. Svar September 4, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    “It looks like Svar and David C, and maybe 7Man are the only male inhabitants left at TC.”

    Unfortunately, it seems that way as well. CSPB(7man) and Chris barely comment, Cane Caldo, Brendan, you and Van Rooinek have left for good, and Bike Bubba doesn’t show up either for some reason.

    A lot of the men who used to comment either barely comment or don’t comment anymore.

  35. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Oh please, ditch the hamster crap. Those women are wise and discerning; both they and the men had good points,

  36. Svar September 4, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    “Oh please, ditch the hamster crap.”

    Big wheels’ a-turnin’, haha.

    I have never seen hamsters strong enough to turn Ferris wheels before. Actually, I have, but that’s besides the point.

  37. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Don’t start, svar. I know they’re not perfect, but to write them off as always having hamsters is arrogant, esp. since we’ve all seen your sexual rodents going. The only time I’ve seen their hamsters, in fact, is primarily when they’re catering too strongly to male-rule. But I haven’t been there lately, so Will might be describing different post(s).

  38. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Detin, thank you for not dismissing those women altogether. They’re really too myriad, each of them, to be dismissed so utterly.

  39. Svar September 4, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    “since we’ve all seen your sexual rodents going.”

    My “sexual rodents”? Hahahaha!! What are those? That sounds like something that’s illegal in every single state, Jen.

    “The only time I’ve seen their hamsters, in fact, is primarily when they’re catering too strongly to male-rule.”

    Ahhh, Jen. That’s when their hamsters take a rest and let yours pick up the slack.

  40. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Svar, you need to drop the macho lingo and talk to me like another person, please.

  41. Svar September 4, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    “Svar, you need to drop the macho lingo and talk to me like another person, please.”

    Jen, why are you taking everything so seriously? Are you still angry at me because of that email?

    But seriously, what are “sexual rodents”?

  42. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I’m not angry because of the email at all, Svar, but your attitude here towards older and wiser women was irritating; do you not realize that when you constantly make fun and agree with jerky male statements, it gets confusing about when you’re serious or not?

    Sexual rodents are what I call men’s tendency to rationalize their uglier choices with sex.

  43. Svar September 4, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    “do you not realize that when you constantly make fun and agree with jerky male statements, it gets confusing about when you’re serious or not?”

    Yeah, I’ve been told as much by CAB and Learner. And Terri.

    “Sexual rodents are what I call men’s tendency to rationalize their uglier choices with sex.”

    When have I done this?

  44. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    “Sexual rodents are what I call men’s tendency to rationalize their uglier choices with sex.”

    When have I done this?”

    It’s generally the “well, the result is sex, so it can’t be that bad..” kind of attitude. You’ve done it most often in joking tones, but I have seen it largely among men; they’ll do many amoral things to get sex. I do like you Svar (most of the time). But you can be frusterating as well.

  45. Svar September 4, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I still don’t understand how making a girl tingle is wrong… All the Christian guys of the Manosphere, especially the married ones(like David Collard or Ulysses) do things that you disagree with but it gets them results.

  46. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Exactly my point. You’re not married, svar, so please stop stressing over women’s sex organs; that’s repulsive to me. It depends on WHAT you do, and as I pointed out before, you believe that if it gets sex, it’s ok. All women are not the same, and I wouldn’t be able to stand David’s tactics. I don’t know what Ulysses does that you think I disagree with, but I don’t disagree with being confident or pretending to be a jerk with a woman who knows you well enough to know the difference. I’m sending you an email.

  47. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    “All the Christian guys of the Manosphere”

    Guys like Badger and Dalrock don’t do any of the stongly jerky things that I dislike; it’s only the manipulative and as*hole type things that I really disagree with, and I doubt many Christian men do them. As for the “manosphere”, though, I don’t care for many of their stuff.

  48. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Many of their *things*.

  49. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    As it happens, I don’t have a problem with Ulysesses’ solution in his last post. But the fact that he follows Roissy’s reasoning bugs me.

    Oh well, back to the new post..

  50. Chris September 4, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Well, St James is not something a Aussie would handle… I guess since it is a stage name Miss Smallbone can bow be Mrs Fink.

    Completely off my radar. Not Hillsong, Not Brooke Fraser, Not Parachute… and too country for my taste.

  51. Chris September 4, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Will — the Aussie and Kiwi accent is easliy disguised. if she had been in the USA for a few months, it would be hard to note. Consider Anna Paquin (NZ), Karl Urban (NZ) — and half the actors in the Matrix (All Aussies. Seriously, Mr Smith? Aussie).

    We can lose our accent in a second. It is a survival skill.

  52. Jennifer September 4, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    “We can lose our accent in a second. It is a survival skill”

    Really?? Wow.

  53. Chris September 4, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Jenn:

    Imagine a someone speaking. Without moving their lips. Using about three vowels. Softly. At 150 words per minute, and with a terminal lilt as the only hint that they are asking a question.

    That’s the NZ accent. I switch to a pythonesque Yorkshire one when I’m overseas. No one can understand me otherwise.

  54. Will S. September 5, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    @ Chris: It’s a bit hard for outsiders to distinguish between Aussie and Kiwi accents, same as it’s difficult for outsiders (Brits, Irish, you antipodeans) to distinguish between northern U.S. and Canadian accents. I can tell a bit the differences between some different Caribbean country accents, because my mom and all her family are from there, but most people from Canada and the States find all West Indian accents quite similar, hard to distinguish between.

    I think this holds true for most parts of the world, surely.

  55. debilis January 28, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    I love the picture; seems more than a bit like my own life.

Leave a Reply

