How you like them apples?

24 Nov

Happy (American) Thanksgiving, HHalo readers!

On this federally sanctioned day of tryptophanic gluttony, take the time to thank God for at least one thing in your life, not the least of which is this very blog you are reading.  I’m definitely thankful for all of the visitors, readers, and commenters who make writing this blog that much more satisfying (and entertaining!).  Consider yourself blissfully side-hugged by Aunt Haley.

P.S.  Yes, I made the pie myself from scratch.  Marriage proposal line begins to the left.

11 Responses to “How you like them apples?”

  1. Will S. November 24, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Ooh, baking is a desirable trait, indeed!

    Happy Yanksgiving, Haley.

    Cheers.

  2. OffTheCuff November 24, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Mrs. C says the secret is cider vinegar, and crust from scratch. I gotta agree.

    Yeah, apple-picking is quite SWPL-y her in New England, but I do get pie out of it.

  3. samsonsjawbone November 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Consider yourself blissfully side-hugged by Aunt Haley

    If you ever ‘sidehug’ me you’re going to end up with a face full of apple pie.

    Yanksgiving

    YES! Never heard it and I love it!

  4. Will S. November 24, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    My term alone thus far, AFAIK, Samson. When I lived in the States for a year, a decade back, I distinguished between OUR Thanksgiving – obviously the correct time to celebrate it, the second Monday in October – and THEIRS – the fourth Thursday in November, which I christened ‘Yanksgiving’.

    Feel free to use it and spread it. :)

  5. Chris November 24, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Have a happy Yanksgiving. Now if you want to come to the side of the light… you can move to a land where it is late spring now and the weeds are sprouting…. and we grow our own grannie smiths…

    (Will, the correct celebration in November is Guy Fawkes day)

  6. Will S. November 25, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    @ Chris: Do you observe Guy Fawkes Day in NZ? We don’t, in Canada, and I’ve always thought it’s too bad that we don’t; I wish we did…

  7. Hermes November 26, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Marriage proposal line begins to the left.

    Haley, I have heard a lot about you from our mutual friends, and then I saw your profile on Facebook. You sound like a lot of fun, so I’d like to get to know you a little better.

  8. Samson J. November 26, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    ^ sarcasm game – has potential.

  9. Aunt Haley November 26, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    ^^Boundless game – even more potential!

  10. samsonsjawbone November 26, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    You know, I think that I am poor Boundless’ biggest friend around here.

  11. Hermes November 26, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Haley, I was hoping I could start by meeting your dad for coffee. I’d make it clear to him that I intend to treat you as a prized child of God and help you to guard your heart, rather than becoming one more in the arsenal of the enemy who wants to dash your hopes about finding a Christian spouse and rob your joy in the season of singleness.

Leave a Reply

