TLC’s “Virgin Diaries” to air on Dec. 4.

27 Nov

On Sunday, Dec. 4, cable network TLC (home of the Gosselins, Duggars, frumps who need makeovers, and little people) is going to air a one-hour special called Virgin Diaries.  This documentary fill focus on six virgins – a couple saving their first kiss for their wedding***, a 35-year-old redditor incel, and three 30-year-old female roommates (one of whom is a “reclaimed virgin”) who are blogging about their search for Mr. Right.

It’ll be interesting to see how TLC handles the subject, especially in light of the promo below.

***

44 Responses to “TLC’s “Virgin Diaries” to air on Dec. 4.”

  1. Lisa November 27, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I’m one of the Virgins featured in the TLC show (one of the roommates)… check out our website and take a sneak peak at how we feel, what we believe and get to know the “3 Virgins” before the show airs!

  2. Chris November 28, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    Um, were they set up for that kissing? it took PDA (and I like PDA) to a new level of ickness.

  3. Blair November 28, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I look forward to seeing the show, but that has to be one of the weirdest kisses I have ever seen.

  4. Jennifer November 28, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Please.

  5. PT Barnum November 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    How carefully selected the group is. Two dorks getting married. An older male loser. Three women hitting the wall and desperately looking for a husband.

    Do ya think it will confirm idiot hipsters view of religious people?

    Step 1 of my self-help program involves being aware that the vermin like mocking and degrading their betters. Nasty little creatures that bite nastily.

    You have to decide how you deal with it, but never let nasty little creatures show you “who you really are”. They lie. Obviously, but apparently it needs to be said.

  6. x@y.com November 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    PT Barnum you are a weirdo.

  7. ASDF November 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    PT Barnum has it right. I have eminently respectable Victorian ancestors who had 15 kids, but something about the Duggars just weirds me out.

    That virgin roommate blog was so self-absorbed that I couldn’t make it past page 1. Actually, I just went back and read more, in order that I not speak too hastily. It’s worse than I thought. If any of you chicks want to get married, delete that thing right now.

  8. Marvin the Martian November 28, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever watched The Learning Channel. Their material doesn’t seem to be nearly as educational as Discovery or History or Military.

    I’d like to see a “7-Up”-style followup, where the same group is interviewed again post-coitus (and probably post-relationship), and see what they would have done different if they had the chance. I think people place entirely too much emphasis and expectation on sex, making a big deal out of something which, in the end, is trivial and ultimately insignificant in the larger picture of love and companionship.

  9. Aunt Haley November 28, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Forgot to put this in the original post – here’s the press release for the doc.

    ASDF–
    But those girls are your people! They’re Canadian! AND they’re from your neck of the woods!

  10. jack November 29, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    Reclaimed virgin? Former mistake-maker?
    Carouselibate?

    God is in the business of forgiving sin, not pretending it never occurred.

    All hamsters on deck.

  11. jack November 29, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    http://www.confessionsofa29yearoldvirgin.com/2011/11/what-child-is-this.html

    From their blog:

    “Now what kind of a girl would do that, take a treasure like her virginity and give it carelessly to a guy to “keep” him? Unfortunately, A LOT of girls and woman do it everyday! They are desperate to feel beautiful and loved and wanted. ”

    Easy answer:

    “There was this boy, a boy I thought was very “cute,” and I wanted to go out with him; I was not sure where we would go, but I was gonna go out with him. He was a year older, and we had some mutual friends, so I did everything in my power to look “cute” everyday- makeup, hair, clothes, flirting, walking by him in the hall (I’m pretty sure I never made eye contact with him, thinking I was playing it “cool.”) I invited him to parties and then went to them hoping he’d show up; he never did.”

    He was out of her league. Notice how she positions her actions as “wanting to feel loved”.

    Well, yes, kind of. But she was putting a ton of attention into getting a CERTAIN KIND of aloof, unavailable man. I promise you there were other men available to her that she could have got. But those men would not have raised her sense of status and self-worth high enough.

    This virtuous girl was not putting attention into getting men in her own league, obviously.
    Her words confirm to me my long-held view that many Christian women make a calculating decision to give it up when they want the guy badly enough. The tears and the “he-led-me-on” come later when the effort failed. Hamster.

    You cannot blame a man for leading you on when you are throwing yourself at him.

    Hidden underneath all the Christian-speak is a girl who cannot see her pride and vanity, and instead couches it as “wanting to feel loved”. When we hide our sin under pretty-sounding rationalizations, we get into big trouble. Maybe these kind of women are desperate to be loved, but if they are starving for love, they are not asking to be fed, they are looking for a banquet.

    Christ says that we have not because we ask not, or that we ask amiss, that we may consume it upon our lusts. God does not supply the objects of our lustful desires.

  12. ASDF November 29, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    But those girls are your people! They’re Canadian! AND they’re from your neck of the woods!

    I saw that. I should meet one of them, get on the show, and then leverage that fame to meet someone who isn’t crazy. Didn’t one of the Bachelors do that?

    This is why I love online dating though. Give women enough rope (space to write about themselves) and they’ll often hang themselves with it.

  13. Herbie November 29, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    “Give women enough rope (space to write about themselves) and they’ll often hang themselves with it.”

    Boy is that spot on. Its like a voluntary/involuntary self-destruct mode.

  14. jack November 29, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I linked to the wrong post in the previous comment: Here is the correct link:

    http://www.confessionsofa29yearoldvirgin.com/2011/09/am-i-beautiful.html

    Also, here was the part I forgot to add, it tells the whole story and certainly makes it much harder to put Christian women on any kind of pedestal:

    I got to a point where in my room one day I said out loud, “I will do whatever it takes to keep him, even sleep with him!”

    This is the voice of pride. Pride that is determined to have its own way, pride that is determined to prove something to itself.

    This is not really the need to be “loved”, this is a voice that demands emotional and intellectual satisfaction and validation.

    I am thoroughly sick of womens’ sin getting a sugar coating of deniability while mens’ sexual sin is dragged out into the light and examined ruthlesssly.

  15. JG November 29, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    “reclaimed virgin”

    I’ve known some single moms who would like to ‘reclaim’ their virginity. Unfortunately, it’s pretty unlikely that will happen with the proof of their past decisions staring them in the face. God does forgive sin. But the concept of ‘reclaimed virginity’ seems to be a form of denial. Seems better to acknowledge the past and move on.

  16. ASDF November 29, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    The reclaimed virgin is chief basketcase.

    I meant to tell you, “I am precious.” I meant to tell you, “I am a unique jewel.” I meant to tell you, “I am not like any other girl you’ve ever met.” I meant to tell you, “I am a child of God.” I meant to tell you, “I am worth waiting for.” I meant to tell you, “I am to be respected and honoured.” I meant to tell you, “I have been purified and restored.” I meant to tell you, “My heart is a treasure.” I meant to tell you, “I believe in true love.” I meant to tell you, “You’re not the guy for me.” I meant to tell you, “Take your hand off of my back.” I meant to tell you, “I am not a girl who gives it all away.” I meant to tell you, “Please stop unbuttoning my top.” I meant to tell you, “I have a choice.” I meant to tell you, “Take your hand out from under my skirt.” I meant to tell you, “I do not compromise.” I meant to tell you, “Stop touching me in places where your hands do not belong.” I meant to tell you, “My body is a gift.” I meant to tell you, “Please keep your pants on.” I meant to tell you, “What we are doing feels wrong.” I meant to tell you, “I don’t want to do anything with you.” I meant to tell you, “My body does not belong to you.” I meant to tell you, “I am waiting for the man I will marry.” I meant to tell you, “I want my wedding night to be special.” I meant to tell you, “Stop.” I meant to tell you, “No.” I meant to tell you, “It hurts”. I meant to tell you, “I want to go home.” I meant to tell you, “I hate this.” I meant to tell you, “It makes me feel worse inside.” I meant to tell you, “You don’t really know who I am.” I meant to tell you, “You made me cry.” I meant to tell you, “You made me angry.” I meant to tell you, “You really hurt me.” I meant to tell you, “I felt used.” I meant to tell you, “There was a hole in my heart that you nor sex, would ever be able to fill.” I meant to tell you, “You stole something from me.” I meant to tell you, “I want it back.”

    This was at 15. The story of the horny 15 year old boy pushing the reluctant 15 year old girl for sex isn’t exactly novel. But come on, she hated it so much, she did it for another 10 years?

    The remaining years of my undergraduate degree consisted of a desperate search to discover who exactly I was, and the road to get there wasn’t pretty. It meant looking in and facing the pain… years worth of self hatred, striving excessively, cutting, bulimia, and abusive men; sexual assault, drug addicts, alcoholics…

  17. jack November 29, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    She’ll do an excellent job of keeping her beta husband in a state of matrimonial celibacy.

    Girls who approve of premarital sex are not as bad as those who disapprove of post-marital sex…

  18. Jennifer November 29, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    “But come on, she hated it so much, she did it for another 10 years?”

    There are many people who go through that kind of thing, ASDF.

    I’m with you about the Duggars. I like them, yes, and started appreciating Michelle’s selflessness (if not her openness to publicity). But now that she’s pregnant with # 20, I’m gonna say something critical.

    I say this NOT because of her age, and NOT because of her huge number of other kids, but simply because of what her doctor said: Enough is enough already. The woman’s body finally gave out enough to need fairly urgent assistance in the last birth, it was stated that she’s not in really good condition to birth more, and now she’s saying she’s happy to lay down her life for this new kid. Now, it’s one thing to say that when you’re already pregnant, but if that’s your attitude before there’s even another baby in existence, you’ve got a priority problem (I’ve seen this attitude before: women talking about FUTURE, non-existent kids like you should already be planning to die for them). WHY not use birth control, after all those kids? I’ve heard many Quiverfull types explain how kids are a blessing and should be welcomed; this is true, but someone else presented a point of view I hadn’t considered before: is the “I’ll have as many kids as I can” attitude really an expression of a heart that’s never satisfied? Why not be satisfied with the children you HAVE already? Who you’re losing time for, again and again?

  19. jack November 29, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    By the way, the reclaimed virgin sure has a lot of judgment toward the men she used to carouse with.

    Almost like she is rubbing her newfound “cleanliness” in their faces. Not much grace being shown by this girl. Maybe she should show her former collaborators a little of the grace she so lavishly appropriates for herself.

    Her tone is all “I’m better than that”.

    If she was really Christlike she would be saying “WE are better than that”.

    Her words seem to indicate that she is just fine leaving them behind in the ditch with their sin, as long as she escapes it.

  20. Jennifer November 29, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Did she seem to not care about any spiritual problems they might have, Jack?

  21. jack November 30, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    That whole long post of “I meant to tell you” does not sound like someone who acknowledges her full participation in that past life of hers.

    Plus the whole “I just wanted to be loved” is a way to try and partially rationalize her participation in sexual sin.

    It implies that she fell into sin with good intent, but those awful men are just looking to get laid. Her whole demeanor suggests that she thinks womens’ sexual sin is somehow juuuuuust a litttle less indicative of guilt than mens’ sexual sin.

    Unless and until she admits that she was sexually sinning out of selfish pride, I reject her entire cathartic rant.

    She is no less guilty of that sin than those men are, even though she sure seems to see that sexual sin as something that those men “did to her” rather than admitting her full participation.

    Besides, Ms. Reclaimed Virgin AIDED and ABETTED the process of added damage to those mens’ lives. She caused them “soul damage” as much as they did to her.

    I see no indication anywhere in her long, tiring Hamsterian Chant that she is apologizing to those men for leading them into temptation.

    For instance:

    “You stole something from me.” I meant to tell you, “I want it back.”

    No, young lady, you handed it over.

    She needs to own her part in this. Blaming others for her decisions is NOT NOT NOT the sign of a repentant heart. She is trying to wriggle out of accepting her full responsibility.

  22. Jennifer November 30, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Jack, she probably really did want to be loved. But, you have some pretty compelling points there. Quite right, he did NOT steal anything from her; let’s not put ourselves on par with rape survivors, sister. And she did indeed do as much damage to them as they did to her; good point. I think we often forget this, because sometimes women do want emotional connection, but that doesn’t change anything about the act itself unless he lied to her, and I doubt this was the case.

  23. jack November 30, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I’m sure wanted to be loved.

    But a certain kind of “love”. From a certain kind of attractive rogue, as the story usually goes.

    How come she never made any of the type of mistake where she dated a guy who cared about her but was not sexy enough?

    Women never make a mistake regarding attraction. They often make mistakes on character.

    The problem is that we, as a culture, have allowed women to rename their lust as “love”.

    This girl was pursuing plain old I-want-to-be-done-by-a-hot-guy lust. The only difference between men and women is that women are allowed to pretend that their lust is actually love.

    Men are not allowed to make this claim.

  24. Blair November 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I agree with Jack 100%. To often women try to act like a victim when they sin sexually, they are not. When anyone sins we willingly reject God. We don’t need to feel victimized my another or even Satan, we need to feel shame and repent before a Holy God you is faithful to forgive us. I work with teenage girls and I hate when they are treated like the victims because of our current cultures treatment of sexuality. By doing so we let them off the hook and that does not do them or anyone else any favors. Now that I think of it I know more younge men you have dumped their girlfriends for trying to push sexual bounderies then the other way around. With that said I do believe that when we truely repent from our sin God can take the disgustingness of our choices and bring something beautiful from them. I pray this woman has truly repented and by God’s grace she can be a Godly wife and mother.

  25. Jennifer November 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Very good posts, guys.

  26. Herbie November 30, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Hopefully the “Twilight” vampires don’t find out about the TLC virgins as they will be done for. The “reclaimed” virgins might be okay and the not-so-much virgins are in the clear.

  27. ASDF November 30, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    How come she never made any of the type of mistake where she dated a guy who cared about her but was not sexy enough?

    I read in some of the entries that a few of the girls have had Godly relationships filled with hand-holding, fellowship, and eating ice cream cones, but that those relationships ended. I will not venture a guess as to the reason.

  28. Kathy December 1, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    “Reclaimed virgin? Former mistake-maker?
    Carouselibate?

    God is in the business of forgiving sin, not pretending it never occurred.

    All hamsters on deck.”

    Well said Jack! Lol..

  29. Jennifer December 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    God doesn’t pretend it never occured, but He does say His forgiveness is absolute. So don’t let your past drag you down, but don’t “forget” to mention it to the person you’re intimate with either, especially if it’s sexual.

  30. Aunt Haley December 2, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    ASDF–
    Lactose intolerance??

  31. MW December 2, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    The 29 yr old virgins are straight from the buckle of the Bible belt, Abby BC. Typical. How many average men paying the bills and going to work did they reject when they were younger? Quite a few, I’ll guess. Holding out for a youth pastor hero instead of a human being. Well sistas, hold out for the very best God has for you….

    Blair, Jack: agreed 100%. Well said.

    Man, i should check out their church this Sunday; might be an eye opener.

  32. Aunt Haley December 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    The BC virgins were on Ellen this past Wednesday and are also taping a segment for HLN. no more mr. nice guy at Dalrock’s posted a link to this article.

    Lisa, who left a comment here above, is quoted:

    “We’re beautiful, confident, successful women” who are open to serious approaches by men, Marziali said.

    For her part, Marziali is looking for a man whom she’s already nicknamed “The Rock Star.” She wants him to be “strong in character, a leader and have Jesus as his centre.”

    Marziali insists she and her sexually inexperienced friends are not romantic dreamers seeking the ideal, non-existent “perfect” man.

    “No. No. We’re just looking for a guy who has a heart after God, and who is man enough to pursue us.”

    Oh, honey.

  33. jack December 2, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Men, on average, live shorter lives than women.

    Further proof that our God is loving and merciful.

    He took my Grandfather 15+ years before my Grandmother. Poor Grandpa, what a henpecked beta. Rest in peace, Grandad. You’ve earned it.

    Rare is the woman with both the capacity and desire to be a blessing to her husband. And willing to give herself early, while she is young.

  34. OffTheCuff December 2, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Unless and until she admits that she was sexually sinning out of selfish pride, I reject her entire cathartic rant.

    That’s not enough in my book. Without admitting to sin *and* repenting, she is not even Christian. She’s a false Christian, a hypocrite, sinning so grace may abound. Too common.

  35. ASDF December 3, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    MW: I just googled it. It’s in a Sandman motel! Where do you go to church in Vancouver?

  36. MW December 3, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    ASDF: Get it straight! The Sandman is a HOTEL, not a motel. Big difference.

    I predict a somewhat situationally charismatic congregation made up of members hailing from a Menno/CRC/baptist background, heavily influenced by flavour of the month evnagelicalism.

    I’ll wait till after Christmas. Advent is here, my favourite season in the church year. No way I’m spoiling it. However, when I do go, I’ll wear my Carhartts work boots and a Canucks jersey or better yet, my mac shirt (the Maple Ridge dinner jacket) from Army and Navy…. I’m sure I’ll be drowning in phone numbers.

    Now I’m being serious: a great book for you all to check out:

    Good News for Anxious Christians – Philip Cary. Addresses many of the dangerous tendencies in modern Evangelicum Americanum.

    God bless, you all this Advent and Christmas.

  37. A December 3, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I have said this before about conservative Christian women. They aren’t tramping it up, riding the carousel, whatever*, but they frequently are holding out as long as they possibly can for the Christian equivalent of George Clooney, until reality starts slapping them in the face in their 30s.

    *IIRC, even the reclaimed “virgin” has only been with one guy, which is significantly below average for North American women.

  38. Jennifer December 3, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Good post, A.

    MW, happy Christmas to you too :)

    Haley, good one (lactose suggestion).

  39. Old Guy December 4, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    A: You’re right. One(1) is lower than the median (close to three), which is a lot lower than the average (close to eight). Guys who conclude that the women who reject them must be riding the carousel are just disturbed.

  40. ASDF December 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    That chick didn’t just sleep with one guy. She lost her virginity at 15 or something, and then implies that up til her mid 20’s was a big booze-soaked carousel ride.

  41. MW December 5, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Now now ASDF, please exercise some (heaps, actually) Christian charity towards her, knowing full well she’ll cut you no such slack. It’s the manly thing to do…bohica!

  42. jack December 5, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    I have said this before about conservative Christian women. They aren’t tramping it up, riding the carousel, whatever*, but they frequently are holding out as long as they possibly can for the Christian equivalent of George Clooney, until reality starts slapping them in the face in their 30s.

    This makes some of them so upset they are a worse marriage bet even than a girl with experience.

    The fact that their partner count is low can often make them think they are still a virgin (as opposed to a certified-preowned virgin), even as they also still think they’re going to eventually get an alpha because God promises the “desire of her heart”.

    Essentially, the older a girl is, the more you have to test for entitlement. There are some good women in their late 30s, but there are far more who are cynically looking for a Plan B.

  43. Autumn harris January 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    WE WANT MORE VIRGIN DIARIES!!!

  44. Jennifer January 10, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    I hope you’re willing to be equally “tested”, Jack.

Leave a Reply

