Poll results: who’s reading Haley’s Halo?

22 May

I discovered that unless I’m willing to fork over some cash, I have a limit of 200 responses.  Since I’m not willing to part with money for a survey, I have closed the poll for now.  Thanks to everyone who participated!

The results confirmed what I had always suspected, but here’s the breakdown:

1.  Males were 75% of the respondents; females 25%.

2.  Suburban readers were 56% of respondents; urban, 31%; rural, 14%.

3.  Almost 2/3 of respondents (65%), sit on their butts all day at work in an office.  22% work from home or have some other nontraditional job.  13% are blue collar/labor intensive workers.  I realized after I created the poll that I neglected to provide an option to select “student.”  I’m guessing that the students and SAHMs marked themselves in the work from home/nontraditional category.

4.  As I expected, the majority of readers (65%) who responded attend a casual-style church.  29% attend a dressy/upscale church, and 6% admitted that their church is full of superfrumps.

Overall, the results describe a pretty average contemporary American Christian person – you work in an office, you wear jeans to church (and probably sing songs about rivers that flow to God, or how God takes your breath away, or something like that), and you don’t live in the bowels of a major city.  What this means as far as my comments about fashion is:  the average reader probably doesn’t have to push it as far as I recommend in order to get good results.  It really all depends on what level your community generally plays at.  If wearing non-sandals qualifies as dressy in your area, then wear those.  Just aim for a notch above what the rest of the guys are doing.  If your officemates are still wearing the ’90s cube-dweller uniform of pleated khakis and a blousey blue button-down shirt, then wear some slim flat-front pants and a colorful plaid shirt.  It’s still the same basic outfit, but in a more attention-grabbing way.  And GET IN SHAPE.  The clothes often do make the man, but the body often makes the clothes.  Clothes look better on better bodies.

 

4 Responses to “Poll results: who’s reading Haley’s Halo?”

  1. Natalie May 23, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    For the record our church loves, loves old hymns. Also, any bodies of water mentioned are theologically correct and spiritually enriching, and pretty much everyone agrees that seeing the face of God would be terrifying and lead to prematurely arriving in the /presence/ of God. =) We do, however, wear a fair number of jeans.

  2. Samson J. May 26, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    I have yet to see a situation where one of my brother’s divorced male friends ended up with a downgrade in wife/girlfriend choice… The new girls are all upgrades in looks, personality, or both.

    It may be dismaying that I read this and immediately thought, “Well, obviously – why else would the guy divorce his wife?”

  3. Smithborough May 28, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    I thought most of your readers were outraged Rebecca St Clair fans…..

  4. van Rooinek June 13, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    I have yet to see a situation where one of my brother’s divorced male friends ended up with a downgrade in wife/girlfriend choice… The new girls are all upgrades in looks, personality, or both.

    It may be dismaying that I read this and immediately thought, “Well, obviously – why else would the guy divorce his wife?”

    Oh, no.. Far from it. The truth is that getting married, being married, and above all, having sex, gives a man an intuitive knowledge of female responses that a virgin man CAN. NOT. POSSIBLY. have. Hence, if he finds himself single again, he finds getting a newer, hotter chick FAR EASIER.

    I’m 49, happily married since age 38. It took me 20 years of herculean effort to find and land my first (and hopefully only) wife. But if I were widowed, or in some other context was biblically free to remarry, I could use my marriage-derived understanding of women to remarry within a year or 2 — it would be EASY now.

Leave a Reply

